Didn’t you know…?

Posted: September 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

I woke up this morning, like I have so many times since being married to Linda, with the sound of our bedroom television in the background.  She says she needs the noise of the TV to put her to sleep, at least that’s what she tells me.  So this morning was no different, except for one thing.  This morning I didn’t wake up to the usual “Lifetime Network chick flick babble”, but something different.

Our economic situation, being as it has for the last 6 months or so, we have had to do some cutting back, and it’s no big deal.  We had to cut out NFL Sunday Ticket, and otherwise reduce our cable package to the minimum.  And it’s OK, it’s just that we also had to cut out some of the programming Linda likes to watch.  One of those channels is called PIXL.  It has wholesome family type movies where many of the stories include a Christian theme.  She says, “it reminds her of her mom and dad…and easier times before meeting me.”  (I just threw that last part in there.)

Anyway, a few days ago while channel surfing we found the PIXL channel she though she lost.  The cable company just moved it a different spot.  Linda was happy and so was I.

So, waking up this morning, I heard this voice, and it was a PIXL program called, “Mary, mother of Jesus.”   I am still half asleep and I hear Jesus (on the TV) say to his mother and father, “didn’t you know I would be in my Father’s house?”

WOW!  My Father’s house?

“Why were you searching for me? “Didn’t you know I had to be IN my Father’s house?” (Luke 2:49)

We who believe there is no separation IN our relationship with Christ can forever point to this verse and verses like the following!

I and my Father are One! (John 10:30)

He’s thinking, of course I AM IN my Father’s house, where else would I be?  It was almost like He was saying in his twelve year old voice,  “yeah, and so where else could I be, duh?”

And the religious leaders were astonished that a 12 year old boy knew so much!  He was already revealing His One-ness IN His relationship with His heavenly Father, even at such a young age!  Possibly to the same people who would kill Him, some 21 years later.

“Yes, earthly father and mother, I AM here, I can be no other place, don’t you yet know my Father and I are ONE?  Later in life He would say, concerning the house of His Father, “tear down this temple and I will rebuild it in three days!”(John 2:19)

He was of course talking about Himself, the only temple who housed His Father, not some meaningless religious institution!  Thank God Jesus was not at all into building programs, except when it came to the only building that existed, His Father…and us! (Psalm 127:1)

“I had to be here!  Where else could I be?  When you see me you see the Father who lives IN me and I IN Him!”  Show us the Father? “Your looking at Him, I AM..Him IN my Jesus humanity, just as you are Him IN your (fill in your name) humanity!”

What a wonderful thing to know our Lord lives IN His Father, and apart from Him He can do nothing on His own!  What’s just as wonderful, neither can we!  We can do nothing!

NOT ONE THING!

We are not anymore independent of Christ as He was of His Father.  This is the only Gospel that makes any sense, any other depiction of Him makes Him look like a child abuser!

Christ IN you the hope of Glory! (Colossians 1:27)

This is also why we are not able to serve Two masters, because the ONE who lives IN us is our full provision!  There is no reason to look elsewhere, once you know you have everything pertaining to Life living IN you!

And all of this life is meant for only One thing!

Didn’t you know I would be IN Christ?  Didn’t you know it is impossible for me to not be here?  Didn’t you know it’s by Grace alone through faith alone IN Christ alone that we live and move and have our BEING!  Didn’t you know that any other gospel is a lie, and only leads us into a deeper condemnation as we see ourselves separated from our only source of LIFE?

YES!  He was IN His Father’s house, and He still is!  And time, space, or any other created thing cannot change the fact that…AS He is so are we IN this world! (I John 4:17)

We are simply the temple (house), branch, and vine, the container of the One who is our very Life!  Our purpose here is to recognize who we are and who He is, and it’s IN our union relationship with Him we KNOW we are IN the Father’s house (Christ) and that He will never abandon us!

Jesus was concerned with only One thing!  So what about us, the people of God who claim to be His follower?  Shouldn’t we at least take a look at what it was?

“My prayer is not that You take them out of the world but that You protect them from the evil one.  They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. Sanctify them by the truth; your Word (Christ) is truth.  As You sent Me into the world, I have sent them into the world.  For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified.

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe IN Me through their message, THAT ALL OF THEM  MAY BE ONE, Father, just as You are IN Me and I am IN You. May they also be IN Us so that the world may believe that You have sent Me.  I have given them the glory that You gave Me, THAT THEY MAY BE ONE AS WE ARE ONE— I IN them and You IN me—SO THAT THEY MAY BE BROUGHT TO COMPLETE UNITY. Then the world will know that You sent me and have loved them even as You have loved Me.

“Father, I want those You have given Me to be with Me where I am, and to see My glory, the glory You have given Me because You loved Me before the creation of the world. “Righteous Father, though the world does not know You, I know You, and they know that You have sent Me.  I have made You known to them, and will continue to make You known in order that the love You have for Me… MAY BE IN THEM AND THAT I MYSELF MAY BE IN THEM.” (John 17:15-26)

Didn’t you know………….?

Comments
  1. Chris Welch says:

    Rich, I was wondering whether to share this and dont fully know what it means. But when i read the phrase “didn’t you know I would be in my Father’s house?” it kind of leapt out again.

    You know the story in reply to “How do we get faith like that?” And Jesus begins this rather cryptic tale….well to rather knowledge based Westerners it seems cryptic…
    well first you’re servants in the field,
    then having already done a full day
    you serve the Master at table until He says He is satisfied….
    then, shock horror…He girds Himself and serves you…

    well I dont know if this means in ministry….or whether still a time of waiting on God
    but I was feeling you’ve come out of the field
    and you are now in your Father’s House busying yourself there.

    As I say, i have no clue as to whether this means in ministry terms or purely waiting on God terms…but the phrase above kind of leapt out…to mean this is where you now are…

    kind of learning how His house functions….

  2. Elsa Ferreira says:

    Beautiful as always! Thanks for always sharing your life with us/me.

  3. Ralph Harris says:

    Very good, Rich. Thank you!

Leave a comment