The place called “Contentment.”

Posted: August 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

It was Paul who said the following:

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I HAVE LEARNED THE SECRET of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:11-13)

Just what was this “Secret” he learned?   Content in any siuation?  Really?

I wonder if the secret he is talking about here is similar to the “Mystery” ONCE hidden for ages and past generations, but NOW revealed…(Colossians 1:26)

I was walking the other day, thinking out loud, and at the same time wondering, “when am I ever going to go to work for this guy!”  A good friend offered me a position in sales, “the opportunity of a lifetime” with his new company, and for weeks I have left text messages, phone messages, messages with his secretary, all with the same content, “tell him to call me ASAP, I am ready to go to work!” This has been going on for a few weeks, and I have wondered, even to the point of “stinking thinking“, when is this ever going to happen, if ever? 

Does anyone else ever think like that?  Let’s be honest, not religious.

So I am walking out of my driveway, and I don’t get 50 steps down the street before I hear this small voice say to me, “I am taking you to the place called Contentment!” I thought about it, walked some more, and before long I was back home.

Later I told my wife Linda what happened, so when we decided to have our devotions, I released the whole thing to God.  As we were reading our books, everything on the pages were screaming, “be content where you are!” I listened, and when we were done, we prayed and once again released everything into the hands of the One who is able to do exceedingly abundantly beyond all we can ask or think.  The things we long to see but are not able to, apart from Him!

I sent out one final text later that day. But this time instead of asking him when he wanted me to come into work, I asked how he was feeling? This dear friend, who is also my boss, has been very sick with two different cancers! One is in the third stage, while the other is in the second! He needs a miraculous touch from the One who is able to do the impossible!   To my amazement, he immediately sent me a reply, “Fine, can you come in today?”

I arrived at the office without any previous knowledge of what was going on. Come to find out, it was the official first day of the newly revamped company! And I walked in at the beginning of the first HR meeting of this brand new organization! I also had the chance to meet my future partner/trainer in sales, and was as relieved as he was, knowing we weren’t going to have to work alone! In the short time we were together we were even able to put together a preliminary sales and marketing plan for the new company! It was amazing!

I am now learning about the product, how the warehouse operates, and whatever else He has for me “TODAY!”

“I am taking you to the place called contentment!” Those are the exact words He said to me!

And the strides He has recently taken to prepare me for this wonderful place called contentment are beyond anything I could have ever imagined!

All so He could unveil this “Secret” place of His called contentment!

His perfect timing!

Contentment is a mysterious place in the fact that it has to be experienced…Now! It is not something we strive for at a later time! Contentment is all about SEEING God in this NOW moment of His eternal “Today!”

And how do we get there? There is only One way!

By living in the seemingly mundane and routine “every moment” of our lives, and in doing so, seeing ourselves already complete IN Christ! And IN our KNOWING Him, and knowing He would never withhold any “GOOD” thing from us, we are able to see everything in our life, including the trials, afflictions, and “seeming” delays of everyday life as further opportunities for true contentment! All of the things of life that come to us as just forms and expressions of Him! This the “Secret” Paul learned, and why he could also boldly proclaim, “I can do ALL THINGS through Christ who IS my strength!”

WOW! We really do have nothing to concern ourselves with or be anxious about! He KNOWS ALL and He knows exactly what He is doing all the time! And we can be assured everything He is doing is for the purpose of revealing the true joy of life, the “Secret” of being content (with Him alone) IN any situation or circumstance!

In Paul’s discovery of “contentment” he went to hell and back…snakes, shipwrecks, beatings, imprisonments, dangers, concern for the churches, and so much more! But he finally found the hidden Mystery as well as the Secret! And so will we!

And we will find them when least expected, and more than likely when we are thinking; “When Lord? When is this going to happen? When will this suffering end? When will I finally…(fill in the blank)?”

And He will say to us the same thing He said to our brother Paul, “My Grace is truly sufficient, for my POWER is being perfected IN your weakness!”

Finally brethren, whatever is pure, lovely, excellent, and praiseworthy, think on these things, and the Peace of God (otherwise known as…The place called Contentment) which surpasses (our natural) understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds IN Christ Jesus! (Philippians 4:8)

Leave a comment